Fellowship of Augustine

A Place for Catholics and Christians Struggling with Homosexuality

Standing Inside the Fire

The one part of my prayer life that is semi-consistent is the Liturgy of the Hours. Today we pray from the first week of the psalter. I’ve never really cared for the first Sunday because the psalms and canticle are pretty long. But as I was praying this morning, I really found myself being drawn into the canticle.

The canticle is from the third chapter of Daniel, the part that the Protestant Tradition has removed from the Scriptures. It is part of the story of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego who are thrown into the fiery furnace for being disobedient to the king.  In verse 51 it says:

Then the three, as with one mouth, praised and glorified and blessed God in the furnace.

The Scriptures continue as the three men praise and bless God along with creation, even while they are in the most dire of circumstances.

And I realized that this is the kind of faith and devotion God wants from us, from those of us who bear the burden of homosexuality. God permitted the three young men to be thrown into the flames, it was his will. It wasn’t a punishment. It was his will that they would not cave in, but would continue to praise him. He also permits us to bear the cross of homosexual desire. This cross is not a punishment. It is also his will that we do not cave, but continue to praise him.

These desires are like flames in which my heart is immersed. I can either play with the flames and burn myself, or I can gently pray in my temptation, continuing to praise God for his goodness and for all that he has given me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 18, 2012 by and tagged , , , , .

Archives of the Fellowship

